PDA

View Full Version : Looking for Some Advice on 308 Loads

Pages : [1] 2 3

Chrazy-Chris
07-27-2014, 11:52 PM
Hello All,

I'm still a bit of a beginner at reloading and am looking for some advice before I work up my next loads. Here is what I'm working with:

-100rds of once-fired brass from this ammo (headstamped FC 308 WIN): http://palmettostatearmory.com/index.php/federal-7-62x51mm-175gr-gold-medal-match-20rd-box.html
-IMR 4064 and IMR 4320
-Winchester Primers
-175gr SMK, 178gr A-Max bullets, 168gr Hornady BTHP
-Lee collet next sizer (haven't used it yet)

This will be my first time using fire-formed brass and the next-sizer. I'm looking to shoot the smallest group possible with what I'm working with. Here is the rifle:

https://farm4.staticflickr.com/3905/14364530166_18886784be_b.jpg
Savage 11VT 24" 1:10

and here is the best group I've shot so far:

https://farm4.staticflickr.com/3899/14187770659_c0f1170769.jpg
175SMK, 43gr IMR4320, Win Prim, Commercial Brass

I was thinking I should start with about 10rds of the above recipe to see if I get similar results and go from there. I was very happy with the above group but it just wasn't consistent (probably because I was using a mix of commercial brass).

I have a few questions right off the bat, but am open to any suggestions on how you think I should go about my next load:
-Is this brass that I'm shooting considered military or commercial? (FC 308 WIN) If it works well, where can I get more of it?
-I am loading 77gr .223 and 175-178gr .308 and have IMR 4064 and 4320. Is either type of powder more suitable for one caliber over the other?
-Any tips on the collet next sizer?
-Should I bother trimming the once-fired casings?
-Would it be worth-while to try benchrest primers?

I have many more questions but thought I'd take it easy on you guys. Thanks for your help and I'm open to any and all suggestions and tips!!!

Luke45
07-28-2014, 12:33 AM
4064 is great in a 308, never used 4320.