PDA

View Full Version : Savage 110 BA .308

Pages : [1] 2 3

keoni008
06-04-2013, 02:53 AM
Hi newbie here and i had a question regarding my new 10BA. I had a 10FP before and upgraded to a 10BA in 308 and now my reloads not chambering or if it does i see a shiny circle on the back of the casing. I was told that the 10BA is alot tighter then the 10FP, i was using LC brass and found out its way to thick so i went to PMC brass. At the moment my reloads are 168g HPBT hornady heads, IMR 4064 powder with 42grains, OAL is 2.75, this had no problem at all in my 10FP. Also the extractor pin and spring was gone when i went to pull the round out and extract the shell case, im kinda thinking it could be a case issue and or the loads are too hot. Did anyone else have the same problem? Any help would be awesome thank you!

eddiesindian
06-04-2013, 02:27 PM
Savage riggs are known for having tight chambers, more so when there new.
I found out quickly my chamber was tight after I mic,d my fired brass and compared it to my resized.
I solve,d it by using a small bass,full lenght rcbs die

keoni008
06-04-2013, 02:32 PM
What kind of powder are you using and how much grains? Im using IMR 4064 at 42 grains and it seems like there is to much back pressure, my extractor pin got stuck and there was a little shiny circle on the back of the shell.

eddiesindian
06-04-2013, 08:48 PM
Im using RL-15 on 150SMKs. I have 2 loads 1@ 43gr and another for distance @45.5gr. Be as it may, your running 168,s but 42gr of 4064 isnt pushing the envelope.
look at the primer on the spent cartrige and see if the firing pin indentation isnt partually blown back.
I suggest that you mic one of your fired brass against brass youve already resized. get your readings from 3 seperate locations on the brass. just below the neck where the taper ends, middle, and bottom shoulder.
fyi...small base full lenght die usually resize,s the base of the brass about .002 smaller

bodywerks
06-05-2013, 12:10 AM