Thread: 12FV Bullet Recommendations

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

12FV Bullet Recommendations

Getting ready to start loading for my 12FV .308. 26" barrel, 1:10 twist. I was going to start with 168 gr but with the 1:10 twist I'm thinking of going heavier. It's my first time loading .308. Any feedback would be appreciated, thanks.

Basic Member
    Quote Originally Posted by JohnRS View Post
    Getting ready to start loading for my 12FV .308. 26" barrel, 1:10 twist. I was going to start with 168 gr but with the 1:10 twist I'm thinking of going heavier. It's my first time loading .308. Any feedback would be appreciated, thanks.
    I would go with 175 or 178.. that's what I have found to be the most accurate in all my 1/10 .308 and I dont really have science to back it up but it sure seemed easier to find my work up on heavier pills.. again, that just could be a perception thing but getting same hole results from 175 and 178 is not a perception lol

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Ted_Feasel View Post
    I would go with 175 or 178.. that's what I have found to be the most accurate in all my 1/10 .308 and I dont really have science to back it up but it sure seemed easier to find my work up on heavier pills.. again, that just could be a perception thing but getting same hole results from 175 and 178 is not a perception lol

This has been my experience also with the 10 twist savage barrel. The 185 bergers and the 190 SMKs for long range. The 10 twist really starts to match the 175 SMK length. This has been true with 95 percent of the 308's Ive seen. The ones that wee not were very light rifles causing shooter glitch from recoil. I have had success with 155's(150 class) but they perform much better with a 12 (FTR) or 13 twist(palma) and the ultralight hunters. 168's shoot good for up to to 300 yards as do 165 SGK's.