Thread: First build help 26 Nosler

arcticfern

First build help 26 Nosler

I would like to build (my local gunsmith) a 26 Nosler. So tell me where to start I would like to get this 30-30 back to my neighbor I would thinking about a savage axis and then build from there I appreciate it guys.

This is going to be hunting weapon so I don't want to hear about barrel burn, I got it. So where do I start guys?

Do I get a savage axix 7 MM, Boyds stock, little trigger work, barrel....am I on the right path??

I am a soldier so yes I am on an extreme budget ...

james

schnyd112
    First thing you want to do before building a 26 nosler on a budget is look at how much brass is gonna cost. Shooting that round from an axis, you will spend more money on 200 pcs of brass than you will on the rifle.

As for the build, you are on the right path, your plan is sound, but I would just stay with a 7mag and fiddle with that. Brass is everywhere, lots of good data, as much or more capabilities than the 26 Nosler. Not quite as flat shooting, but you can use a plethora of 7mm bullets.

26 nosler is a totally different beast from a 30-30. i have never shot one, but I know a guy that does. He likes to get cow elk tags and shoot them at 800+ yards. That's a lot of rifle if you are hunting in the timber.

arcticfern
    I am an avid bow hunter. But I got the chance for my son and to go on our first rifle deer hunt together. I ended up using a borrowed 30-30 from my neighbor. Ever since my son and I shoot almost every weekend together so this is phenomenal. I'm looking for something a little different that's why I was thinking 26 and I love the specs. We have a lot of good open spaces here in Missouri and I'm pretty interested in shooting something at 500 yards. I've shot a lot of rounds while in the Army with Remington 308. I have a friend who's interested in doing the reloading for me so the brass one time purchase something I can live with.