Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Model 12 Benchrest

Ridgetop

Model 12 Benchrest

Here is a question for you folks that have competed in 600 yard shoots with the Savage model 12 In either benchrest, TR or F class configuration. I'm looking at a 12 in Benchrest, 6BR cal. What if anything needs to be modified to be competitive with the custom built rifles? I have read about the Savage having a stiff bolt lift. To alleviate that correctly seems to be a costly process, although I have read of some inexpensive "do it yourself" mods to ease the lift. Please share your experience.

Re: Model 12 Benchrest

I would say with a good shooter the gun is competitive right out the box, heck I would say all most all Savages are competitive right out the box. When I started shooting 600 IBS benchrest I shot a box stock 112BT in 243, and was competitive, beating out high dollar custom rigs, and opened a few eyes. Now I would say that the gun was hard to shoot because it was, the stock would torque, and do to the light weight it was hard to get it back into battery, and see a shot hit a sighter, but it worked. The 12 bechrest has a much better set up than what I started with, and there are many foaks compeating with them as they are right out the box, but a little tweeking sure does help.

Quote Originally Posted by Ridgetop
    What if anything needs to be modified to be competitive with the custom built rifles?
    To start, the rifle is unballanced with it overly long 30 inch barrel. Some have cut the barrels back with great sucess. The gun is far from 17lbs weight so cutting pockets in the back of the stock to add lead to pick up weight would be a good idea, this would also help balance out the rifle.