Thread: How many times before you need to trim brass .270 and .223

Basic Member

How many times before you need to trim brass .270 and .223

Just started reloading last week, and got a chance to shoot my handloads for the first time today with very pleasing results. i am starting out for my .270 and .223. How many times do you guys shoot brass before it has to be trimmed, or before you toss it? I'm a complete newb and don't have a clue.

thanks

Basic Member

Re: How many times before you need to trim brass .270 and .223

I measure and trim my brass before reloading it everytime. .270 gets trimmed to 2.530 and .223 to 1.750. I know some guys will measure their .223 brass and trim it when it gets to 1.755, 1.760 is max length. How often/much the brass needs to be trimmed also depends on how hot a load your using. I also never mix my brass all together. I keep my brass in 20rd sets and track how many times I've trimmed and reloaded them. I'll normally toss the brass when it hits 8 reloads or defect pops up in one of the cases.

82boy

I usually trim after 4 firings.

damilkman40