PDA

View Full Version : 12FV Bullet Recommendations

Pages : [1] 2

JohnRS
01-05-2020, 03:33 PM
Getting ready to start loading for my 12FV .308. 26" barrel, 1:10 twist. I was going to start with 168 gr but with the 1:10 twist I'm thinking of going heavier. It's my first time loading .308. Any feedback would be appreciated, thanks.

Ted_Feasel
01-05-2020, 04:25 PM
Getting ready to start loading for my 12FV .308. 26" barrel, 1:10 twist. I was going to start with 168 gr but with the 1:10 twist I'm thinking of going heavier. It's my first time loading .308. Any feedback would be appreciated, thanks.I would go with 175 or 178.. that's what I have found to be the most accurate in all my 1/10 .308 and I dont really have science to back it up but it sure seemed easier to find my work up on heavier pills.. again, that just could be a perception thing but getting same hole results from 175 and 178 is not a perception lol

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

CFJunkie
01-05-2020, 04:37 PM
Performance of any particular rifle is subject to the rifle's barrel so 'favorite loads' sometimes don't really mean all that much.

I have two Savage .308 and one prefers bullets from 150 to 168 grains and the other prefers bullets from 168 to 200 grains.

That said, most of my five .308s shoot 168 Federal Premium Gold Medal Match 168 grain SMKs factory ammo really well. I tend to think of it at the gold standard for .308 factory ammo.
My reloads with 168 SMKs actually shoot better than the factory ammo with the same bullets, but I always start with factory Federal GMM 168s with a new .308 rifle.

You'll really should be prepared to check weights from 150 and 155 grains all the way up to 195 to 200 grains to see what your new rifle really shoots best.
I was surprised at the difference in the preferences between my two bolt action Savages. I expected them to shoot the same loads with the same accuracy.