PDA

View Full Version : Best Action for new Build?

Pages : [1] 2

R_Swanson
02-15-2017, 02:26 PM
Hey guys, I'm looking for a Savage short action to put into a chassis for a new build. Im pretty new to this but I built a heavy barrel target/varmint/SPR AR that groups fantastic and I'm having a lot of fun shooting it on paper and steel and I want to build something to stretch distances with. I am a DIY'er by nature so I thought a Savage was a great platform to build from.

I've been researching this but can't find a straight answer. Are any of the short actions inherently "better" or more sought after than another? I plan on using an XLR chassis that pretty much accepts any of them, so that should not be a big factor.

Sorry for the noob question. Any additional advice you have is appreciated as well!

hereinaz
02-15-2017, 06:07 PM
A Stealth action is blueprinted at the factory and comes with a nice MDT chassis. If I were starting over, I would do that for one of my guns...

I am not sure is there is a "better" model unless it is treated differently during production. What I know is that many guys get a better recoil lug, barrel nut, bolt head, and maybe a bolt upgrade. That maximizes the floating bolt head design.

Robinhood
02-15-2017, 07:32 PM
I wish they had used the BA or LRP action.

R_Swanson
02-15-2017, 09:36 PM
A Stealth action is blueprinted at the factory and comes with a nice MDT chassis. If I were starting over, I would do that for one of my guns...

I am not sure is there is a "better" model unless it is treated differently during production. What I know is that many guys get a better recoil lug, barrel nut, bolt head, and maybe a bolt upgrade. That maximizes the floating bolt head design.

I wish they had used the BA or LRPV action.
Thanks guys. Maybe I miss stated my question. I am looking for a blank action to put into a build, either buying it on its own or on a gun that I can then part out the rest of it.