PDA

View Full Version : Nosler brass in 260.....bummer

Pages : [1] 2

eddiesindian
05-20-2015, 08:35 PM
I've been reloading for 35 years and have never seen a brand new piece of brass do this.
I figured I may have some how or another nicked the case mouth while loading up some horn. 140 gr.
So I pulled it and much to my surprise, I didn't. Upon inspection of the case, I could quickly see the culprit. You could see a discoloration on the inside of the case right where the Crack was.
Bummer! Seeing as how expensive nosler brass is? Wtf!
Oh well, alls not lost I figured hey....might as well use this case to see what my free bore is with my new 260 lrp and Hornady 140g match pills.
Need to give nosler a call though.

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x88/eddies880/Mobile%20Uploads/20150520_182133_zpsiwffcd4h.jpg

Hotolds442
05-20-2015, 10:30 PM
http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x88/eddies880/Mobile%20Uploads/20150520_182133_zpsiwffcd4h.jpg

jonbearman
05-20-2015, 11:36 PM
I got some a while back and after one firing of modest loads I lost a dozen to loose primer pockets.

eddiesindian
05-21-2015, 12:30 AM
I was afraid you'd mention that. I too have been working on modest loads. loose pockets were the 1st thing I looked for and after one firing,they look/feel fine.

390fe
05-21-2015, 06:21 AM
Annealing your necks will extend the life of your brass, and reduce splits.

GaCop
05-21-2015, 06:44 AM
Annealing your necks will extend the life of your brass, and reduce splits. Very true but, one shouldn't have to anneal brand new brass....

LongRange
05-21-2015, 08:23 AM
I've been reloading for 35 years and have never seen a brand new piece of brass do this.
I figured I may have some how or another nicked the case mouth while loading up some horn. 140 gr.
So I pulled it and much to my surprise, I didn't. Upon inspection of the case, I could quickly see the culprit. You could see a discoloration on the inside of the case right where the Crack was.