PDA

View Full Version : MOA groups out of my savage axis?

Pages : [1] 2

Ridgerunner7
01-12-2015, 07:03 PM
I don't have much time behind this gun and I'm far from an expert shot. So far I've tried Rem Cor Locket, Hornaday American, and Wichester Ballistic tips. My best 3 shot 100 yard group came from the Wichesters which was about 1.5" off sand bags. Called Savage for recommendations and they suggested Federal ballistic tips or Nosler Accubonds. I realize a 1.5" is a decent group. I'm looking for input on if I should be happy with this group, is better grouping potential there? If so, what ammunition have you guys had good luck with? I'm a hunter only but would like long range accuracy. Gun is a Savage Axis xp 270 with accutrigger. Any input or suggestions is appreciated.

foxx
01-12-2015, 07:54 PM
I know you're only looking for advice on factory ammo, but 'm gonna say it anyhow. :)

All of my Savages shoot at or better than .5 inches at 100 yards with hand loads. I have never tried any factory ammo in any of them, but, honestly, it's hard for me to not recommend you try getting started in hand loading. It's a lot of fun and very addictive. :)

Maybe others here can suggest good factory ammunition.

Good luck with it.

upSLIDEdown
01-12-2015, 08:57 PM
To my knowledge, there's not a lot of match grade ammo for a 270, but I'm just going off what I've heard... My axis 308 shot sub moa with Federal Gold Medal Match with no issues.

Mortblanc
01-13-2015, 12:03 AM
I have never been able to get less than 1" groups out of factory ammo, but I have never worked with an Axis that would not give 1.5". Yours is about average.

You want long range accuracy?

Do you realize that 1.5" groups at 100 equals 7.5 inch groups at 500 yards?

That is deer killing accuracy farther away than one can identify if the animal is a buck or doe without optics.

sharpshooter
01-13-2015, 02:33 AM
You want long range accuracy?