PDA

View Full Version : Model 11 very tight to chamber PPU 243

Pages : [1] 2

castells007
07-13-2014, 09:44 PM
Hello,

I am fairly new to boltguns and Savage. I bought a bunch of PPU 90 gr 243. It chambers very tight in my Savage 11 trophy hunter 243. I can close the bolt, but it takes decent effort. All other ammo has ran fine and the chamber is clean. Love the rifle so far but bummed about the PPU ammo.

Is it safe to shoot this ammo? Is this a known problem with PPU ammo?

Thanks for any insights!

aka:Cliff
07-14-2014, 02:46 PM
I had a similar issue with mine in .308. I sent it back to Savage and they literally made the bolt handle looser.
I think they messed it up really. and I am looking for answers myself still. It chambers now, but the handle is freaking loose as all get out.

jonbearman
07-14-2014, 04:49 PM
Have you tried a headspace gage to make sure the headspace isn't to tight? I would ink up a cartridge and see where it rubs.If it shows the shoulder to be rubbing upon closing I would reset the headspace using a go gage and a no go gage.

BillPa
07-15-2014, 09:42 AM
I had a similar issue with mine in .308. I sent it back to Savage and they literally made the bolt handle looser.
I think they messed it up really. and I am looking for answers myself still. It chambers now, but the handle is freaking loose as all get out.

When you say loose are you saying the bolt handle itself is loose or the bolt feels lose cycling it?

Bill

07-15-2014, 11:37 AM
Hi Bill,

The handle itself is loose. When cocked & locked (round chambered) the handle moves freely about 1/4" up & down.
Yeah, I'm not thrilled about it. And that is the FACTORY fix from Savage.

Would that be a head spacing issue?

Original problem was when it was 100 degrees outside, and I would shoot 5 rounds slowly. (the gun holds 3+1 chambered) -or is it 4+1?
The 5th round would load & fire, but not extract, like the gun was over heated and the case stuck.