PDA

View Full Version : Confused with Axis 1:9 and .223 bullet weight

Pages : [1] 2

jlnft
12-25-2013, 10:08 AM
Okay, I'm not a newbie, but definitely not a grizzly veteran. I have purchased various match grade factory ammo in 69gr and 75gr for my Axis. I went to the farm yesterday to test. I started using Remington 55gr just to get the scope dialed in. With the cheaper Remington 55gr. I was able to keep 5 shots in about a 1" square. Soooo, I figured, "boy, when I start shooting the 69gr match grade" I'll be driving tacks..........NOT! I couldn't keep the match grade within 2". Everything I had read said 1:9 twist would stabilize a 69gr bullet very well. I used three different manufacturers, factory loads. So, someone please enlighten me!! Please!! By the way, I was shooting at 100yds.

I probably won't have time to reload for the next few years, so I'll have to stick to factory loads.

Thanks in advance,
Joe

wbm
12-25-2013, 11:01 AM
Group size is not a good indicator of whether a bullet is stabilized or not. My guess is that your Axis just does not "like" the three factory loads you have tried. Shoot the 69gr factory stuff at 300-400 yards....if you don't get a key-hole then the bullet is probably stable.

stangfish
12-25-2013, 11:17 AM
Have you gone back to the ammo that shot 1" square? Rather than throw the towel in on the match ammo, I would try and duplicate the best groups with the ammo that shot well. If that ammo now shoots >2"s then we know that it is a different problem. Let

I often test theories more than once. I find that I am working in the right direction rather than taking shots in the dark.

kdvarmint
12-25-2013, 12:05 PM