Thread: Model 10 Precision Carbine barrel contour question

762X51

Model 10 Precision Carbine barrel contour question

I'm new to the world of Savage but finally saw the light. I ordered a Model 10 .308 Precision Carbine yesterday. I like .308 well enough but I have a hankering for something in .260. One of the features that drew me to the Savage design is the easily swapped barrels. My question is this; is the barrel taper for the Precision Carbine unique to that rifle? I understand it's shorter of course but is the taper the same as say the model 12 varmint models? Is there a list available that shows the various tapers offered by Savage. My hope is that I can get a .260 barrel that will fit the stock channel of the Precision Carbine. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

82boy

Re: Model 10 Precision Carbine barrel contour question

Quote Originally Posted by 762X51
    My question is this; is the barrel taper for the Precision Carbine unique to that rifle?
    Yes, it is also shared on the 10 predator hunters.

I understand it's shorter of course but is the taper the same as say the model 12 varmint models?
    Nope it is smaller in diameter. It is in-between a varmiter and a sporter profile.

Is there a list available that shows the various tapers offered by Savage.
    Not that I know of. Basically the target action guns (12 F class, 12 benchrest, LRPV) have a heavier profile than the model 12 varminter (VLP, BVSS) and 10 tactical guns. (10FP) The predator hunter, and precision carbine have a smaller taper, then the sporter couture guns. Savage also had some Odd ball guns that broke the rules one that come in mind is the 12VSS, it has a taper close to the target action guns, but it was considered a varminter gun. I also think some of the magnum guns had a slightly bigger taper to the sporter contour.

My hope is that I can get a .260 barrel that will fit the stock channel of the Precision Carbine.