Thread: SSS Benchrest Laminate versus Stockade composite benchrest

docsleepy

SSS Benchrest Laminate versus Stockade composite benchrest

Both SSS and Stockade seem to make light/heavy benchrest type stocks. Any particular advantage to one over the other?

I kinda like the composite (less moisture sensitivity?) and internal alum skeleton of the Stockade.....but then I'm really a newbie and perhaps there is something more to consider.

The prices seem similar. My goal is accuracy and easy of use on benchrest and rear bag as I try to put together a 6PPC rifle on a Savage short action and Shilen bull (short) barrel.

Any particular advantage one way or the other you'd like to point out to me?

thanks
    gordon

docsleepy

Re: SSS Benchrest Laminate versus Stockade composite benchrest

hmm....NO comments? Anyone used the Stockade for benchrest? The SSS Laminate? Any comments?

82boy

I am guessing your asking about the long range benchrest stock? My understanding is Fred Moreo, (SSS) is the designer of both stocks. SSS has sold a lot more laminate stocks than they have stockade stocks. (When they use to sold them, and going by yearly sales)

The SSS stock has a better price. I have never had any problem with moisture sensitivity with a laminate.

If I was building a gun for accuracy, not shooting registered match's either stock would be fine, but I would lean toward the SSS stock, because I like the look of laminate much better than fiberglass.

groupshooter22

I had the Stockade br stock. Ordered it out of the mold and when I got it I couldnt believe how light it was. I now have a SSS dog tracker and am really impressed with it. Cant go wrong with either. Pick the one that you like to look at.

docsleepy

THANKS to both of you -- very good information, very very much appreciated.
    gordon

Quote Originally Posted by groupshooter
    Cant go wrong with either. Pick the one that you like to look at.