Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Multi use powders

Basic Member

Multi use powders

With the scarcity of powders today, what are some of your favorite multi caliber powders to keep in stock. I am pretty new to this but have found w748 to be very useful for several rifle calibers.

IMR-4064 will cover quite a bit. I've run it in everything from a 5.56 thru 350 Remington Mag.
    Favorite powder in our 250 and 300 Savage's. AA-4064 is another good one.
    Keeping my bad Karma intact since 1952

Varget has been my go to followed closely by IMR-8208, BL-C2, IMR-4064 and then down the line. I try to keep a dozen or more different powders in the stash. Shooting around 10K of .308 per year plus other calibers, I tend to go through my fair share. Whatta Hobby!
    Semper Fi

Sgt USMC 66-72

Basic Member
    For me, Varget's great advantage is its temperature insensitivity - 4 fps change over a 0-125 def F. range for the same powder charge, making it an all season powder.
    It is also very accurate in the rifles I use it in.
    And it is a very multi-use powder.
    I use it, when available, for my four .308s, for my three .223's with bullets from 60 to 77 grs, and for my two .22-250s.

VV N540, with more temperature sensitivity -100 fps change over the same 125 deg F. range, gives it a run for its money for accuracy, in the same set of rifles. But you have to load N540 for the temperature that you will be shooting in to get similar performance.
    N540 actually has a slight muzzle velocity increase over Varget given identical exit times from the muzzle.

Unfortunately, Varget doesn't perform as accurately as H4350, 8 fps change over the same 125 deg range, in my three 6.5mm CMs.
    If it did it would be even more multi-use.

Basic Member
    I am another fan of Varget for my .223, .308 and 6BR.

But, I have also used IMR4166, AA4064, BLC2, and RL17 in the .308. The 6BR also likes N150 and will try N540 in it. The Garand gets a lot of 3031.