Thread: Savage model 12FLV from 223rem to 6.5Creedmore!

Basic Member

Savage model 12FLV from 223rem to 6.5Creedmore!

Hi guys, I have a lot of questions, my M12 is about to be built into a custom rifle, it's a 223rem I'm planning to change it to a 6.5Creedmore, this is a left-handed action, I know I need to replace the bolt head and the barrel, I bout this rifle new in 2012. and I have not shot it in about 10yrs and want to do something with it, I know the 6.5CR and the 308win share the same bolt face Dia, I see PTG has a standard stripped bolt head for a 308, but it says it's for 10/110, will this bolt head work for my application?

Banned
    Yes, it will. Model 10 & Model 12 both use the Short Action Bolt Head. I’ve been using a PT&G Bolt Head for several years now & love them. Every Savage I ever own will have one.

Heppy Thanksgiving.. or getting depending.

Basic Member
    Thank you I have been looking at those bolt heads, I'm also trying to decide on a barrel length, between 24 and 26'', This going to be a target rifle, I do not hunt! but I also want to add a break on the end,

Banned
    Im the same. I no longer hunt. Only Benchrest-Target shooting. And I don’t compete either. Simply shoot for the enjoyment.

If you are doing 6.5CM, go 26”. I’ve had 260 Rem for many years now and was using a 26” Shilen. I just switched to 260 Improved & a 28” Criterion barrel.

I'm no expert but it seems that many companies like the 26" for the 6.5 Creedmoor. And I just bought a Model 12 LRP in that caliber and it has a 26" barrel.

Good luck on your project.

Basic Member
    Thanks 58, my 110 Tactical 6.5CR came with a 24''HB threaded muzzle, my hand loads with 41gns RL16 push a 147ELDM a tic over 2700fps, that seems like pretty good numbers to me? but IDK if a 26'' barrel would do much better?

Banned