Thread: Model 12 Trigger Adjustment

Basic Member

Model 12 Trigger Adjustment

I'm new to Savage rifles. I have a new Model 12 F Class in 6mm BR.

The Savage owner's manual says that the trigger can be adjusted "DOWN TO BELOW ONE POUND" (Their caps). I can't seem to get mine adjusted to less than two pounds per my Lyman trigger gauge. This is with the adjustment screw all the way out (counter clockwise). Is this common, or do I have a problem with my trigger.

Basic Member
    This is what I do,so I’m not responsible for anybody else,the rear spring that you adjust I cut off a couple of coils off the spring,always work for me!

If the F class target trigger won’t go below 2 lbs then something is wrong that needs to be figured out before cutting off the spring. With that trigger you shouldn’t need to do anything to it but adjust it, and 8-12oz should be attainable.

Since it’s new you could sent it back to Savage

Basic Member
    Does your F-Class have a Precision Target Trigger with the red blade?
    If so, it should adjust down to 6 oz. My 12 LRP came from the factory with the Precision Target Trigger set at 10 oz.

It is always possible that your trigger gauge is inaccurate.
    A friend had a trigger gauge that we compared to mine because he thought my trigger was lighter than his and his gauge consistently measured 6 oz heavier than mine when we tested on two different triggers.

The Varmint/Target Accu-trigger series on the LE, Target, and Varmint models can be adjusted down to 1.5 lbs. - if you go below that, they easily lock up if you put any sideways pressure on the blade. All of my LE and Varmint triggers are set at 2 lbs.

The heaviest Accu-trigger Savage makes has a lower limit of 2.5 lbs. I'm pretty sure that your F-class didn't come from the factory with that trigger.

Basic Member