Thread: Savage ?? Single shot Bolt??

Savage ?? Single shot Bolt??

I’ve been directed here, from the Cody folks, …. Tried both searching on Savage site… and finally called em and all I found out is they basically cannot help me figure what I’ve recently acquired..
    My background is a reloaded/paper punching fan… ( recreation only) .. Been searching for a single shot bolt gun I could swing,being retired…. GOT ONE!!!! now for the big question!!
    Definitely a Savage, from 75-79 era…. This ol gal has been repiped with a McGowen,26” heavy target barrel..
    Other than a serial number on receiver ,there is no evidence f what model I have…
    Serial ## is C845603.. Chambered in 250 Savage.
    Appreciating any and all suggestions.. Kinda embarrassing to show it off, when I’m not sure what the heck I bought?.
    Thanks in advance, TMS

Banned
    It was made in 1978. You likely have a model 112V Series J. It’s been rebarreled, so no way of telling what cartridge it started life as. Does it resemble the below picture? Measure the distance between the centers of the Action Screws. It will be the standard 5.062” Long Action or 4.522” Short Action.(Intermediate)

Banned
    Oh, and if it is like the one above, you want to post any other questions in the 110 Forum.

Eureka!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Dave Hoback View Post
    It was made in 1978. You likely have a model 112V Series J. It’s been rebarreled, so no way of telling what cartridge it started life as. Does it resemble the below picture? Measure the distance between the centers of the Action Screws. It will be the standard 5.062” Long Action or 4.522” Short Action.(Intermediate)

I believe we’ve got it Dave!! Thank you for responding!, after about a week of scrambling,WE (my local FFL) and I ,went back to drawing board!! What it turns out is this is a med action flatback, They are saying it’s a 10/110 series from the Serial number..C845603.. Thank YOU for helping !! Hope