Thread: Choate Stock Modification

Choate Stock Modification

Hello I am a new member of this community but I have owned a savage axis for a couple years now and I’m looking to modify my rifle and I thought of many different options as far as chassis and stocks goes and I would like to put the Choate rifle stock on my rifle, but obviously it doesn’t fit the axis Product line and I would like to have any recommendations at all on how I can modify the chassis to make it fit the rifle and of course, any help would be much appreciated. I am relatively new at this.

Banned
    No, it will not work. It’s not just a matter of drilling a new Action Screw location hole, or relieving a bit of material for such & such component. Everything is oriented different with the Axis. The Actions are very different, even though they use the same Barrels & barrel Nuts. The Bolt Handle is located differently, the Action Screw lengths, trigger guard & recoil lug placement as well. There is simply too much different between the 110 & Edge/Axis Actions. I’ve never even heard of a stock swap & don’t believe it can be done. Even if it could somehow work, it would require extreme modifications. And you stated you’re relatively new.

Quote Originally Posted by Dave Hoback View Post
    No, it will not work. It’s not just a matter of drilling a new Action Screw location hole, or relieving a bit of material for such & such component. Everything is oriented different with the Axis. The Actions are very different, even though they use the same Barrels & barrel Nuts. The Bolt Handle is located differently, the Action Screw lengths, trigger guard & recoil lug placement as well. There is simply too much different between the 110 & Edge/Axis Actions. I’ve never even heard of a stock swap & don’t believe it can be done. Even if it could somehow work, it would require extreme modifications. And you stated you’re relatively new.

Where did that guy go that loves DIY'ers.