Thread: Barrel swap issues

Barrel swap issues

Hi, I'm swapping the barrel on my Axis II with a Criterion barrel. This is my first time doing a barrel swap, but I'm having issues with the go and no go gauges. No matter how many times I try, the action still fully closes when I put in the No Go Gauge. I've re-done the process multiple times, and whether I tighten the barrel "finger tight" or as tight as I can get it, it's the same result.

Has anyone else encountered this? Any tips or recommendations?

Banned
    OI, just checking… but are the gauges labeled? Always ask the most basic question first. So don’t be offended. But, any chance you have them swapped? Next, do you have a Vernier Caliper/Micrometer? Can you measure both? The “NO GO” Gauge should be approx .004” longer than the “GO” Gauge. And lastly, you can try setting headspace so the bolt closes just a tad snug on the GO Gauge. Just so you barely feel it at the bottom of travel. Even a slightly short NoGo Gauge will not chamber in this method, as headspace will be around .002” or less.

All that done, and if the Gauges are correct & you are still having issue, all I can say is something is being done incorrectly.

Basic Member
    Drop the gauges in the barrel and measure the protrusion before you install it on the action. The go gauge should protrude .125-130". If it is less than that, the bolt head is bottoming on the barrel.
    "As long as there's lead in the air....there's still hope.."

@ Dave, no offense taken! I asked myself the same thing but I can confidently say I did not have them swapped. I don't have a Vernier Caliper/Micrometer but I can easily pick one up near me. Appreciate the feedback, I'll give your suggestions a whirl.

Quote Originally Posted by sharpshooter View Post
    Drop the gauges in the barrel and measure the protrusion before you install it on the action. The go gauge should protrude .125-130". If it is less than that, the bolt head is bottoming on the barrel.