Thread: HELP! Newbie here with a stuck closed Savage 24V! .223 over 20ga

HELP! Newbie here with a stuck closed Savage 24V! .223 over 20ga

I inherited my deceased dear father's gun collection. Some interesting stuff but grew up with some so it's like being your again. Anyway on real interesting rifle is his Savage 24V combo over/under with a .223 and the 20 ga shotgun. Pretty good shape with an okay scope.

Problem is it is just stuck closed! I believe it's empty and and have carefully cocked and fired both barrels. But can't be sure.

PLEASE is anyone can give me guidance on how to try to fix?? I went to a local gunsmith at a range nearby but he tried but suggested I just go home to search the Internet.

I live outside Chicago and there are not a lot gunsmiths but I am open. I am pretty capable with tools and willing to try any ideas.

Thanks so much!

And sorry if this is the wrong forum let me know and I'll cut and paste over.....TIA

Craig

First things first, is the break open lever moving or is it what's frozen up? If it's moving, you'll probably just need to soak the hinge pin area with penetrating oil for a day or two. If the break open lever is frozen up, you'll need to pull the butt stock off and soak the internals in penetrating oil. Butt stock is held on by a bolt accessible under the butt plate just like most shotguns.

These guns are fairly simple in design, but they have a heck of a main spring in them so I don't recommend trying to strip the internals down unless you have a good way to compress and hold that spring for assembly/disassembly.
    "Life' is tough. It's even tougher if you're stupid." ~ John Wayne
    “Under certain circumstances, 
urgent circumstances, desperate circumstances, profanity provides a relief denied even to prayer.” —Mark Twain