Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: light primer strikes.. new guy

Basic Member

light primer strikes.. new guy

Hey barrel nut guys. I picked up a model 111 in 338 Win mag. used but not fired. I liked it because it had a crazy looking muzzle break. [ JP eliminator] like a tank muzzle. I had 2 other savages before but they had issues so i sold em. THis one i would like to keep for a while if i can work out the kinks. I have been reloading for 41 years now, so i know a few tricks... I think the gun is only a few years old. First time out had a lot of misfires. I tightened the back allen nut up and next time only had one misfire out of thirty. The pin protrusion is .48 to .52 i believe. I took bolt apart and its got a sleeve behind the firing pin that holds the cocking pin. no other springs. behind the firing pin. The spring measures 2.6 compressed as it is. While i had firing pin out i checked my brass. full length and necked sized. Head spacing looks fine..with both brass. What do you think?? I may not have any misfires with the neck sized brass. pin looks adjustable so i could let it out like 0.005 more protrusion?? or weak spring??? maybe?? i shoot steel from 400 to 1000 with my 708 varmint special, but hard to see steel move and no one is allowed downrange. So thats why i picked this 338 win mag up. Thanks Guys

Banned
    I don’t understand.. In your first line you said you bought a Savage 111 in 338 WinMag that is “used but not fired”. But then go on to say “first time out had a lot of misfires”.

So number one, which story is it? Number two, don’t add more pin protrusion. It’s already too much. Should be about .035” or so.

Basic Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave Hoback View Post
    I don’t understand.. In your first line you said you bought a Savage 111 in 338 WinMag that is “used but not fired”. But then go on to say “first time out had a lot of misfires”.