Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cutting and recrowning barrels at home

Team Savage

Cutting and recrowning barrels at home

I'm curious how many of you cut and recrown your own barrels at home.

I've been doing this for about 6 years now and darned if every barrel I've chopped and recrowned by hand didn't shoot better afterwards. Not sure if it's a better crown than the factory crown, or the shorter barrel is just stiffer. Either way, I quit worrying about it years ago.

All my barrels are lightweight hunters in the 20-21" range. That's just where they balance the best for me I guess.

I followed the method described by Larry Potterfield for cutting and recrowning a barrel, and finish with a brass screw and valve grinding compound followed by abrasive toothpaste and 1000 grit wet/dry sandpaper. They come out looking and shooting great.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b43odFm0mrI

Here are the results from my latest barrel, after chopping my .284 Win X-Caliber down to 21" and recrowning
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG_2264.jpg   IMG_2258.jpg  

Basic Member
    All I am capable of is cleaning guns after my wife gets them dirty. Ask her! That looks like it works out pretty good for you.

Sent from my SM-G991U using Tapatalk

Very nice work you've done there, and I have several rifles I'd like to shorten a bit. I never really gave it a try though, but I believe it is something I could accomplish once I got past the first cut. I have an old Axis with a damaged trigger and sear that is unable to fire anymore, I guess that would be the perfect practice rifle to hone my skills on.

Team Savage
    Here's one I did recently on a .308 Savage barrel. Prolly shoulda kept that barrel.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_4000.JPG 
Views:	39 
Size:	121.2 KB 
ID:	8442Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_4001.JPG 
Views:	39 
Size:	120.2 KB 
ID:	8443

Team Savage