Thread: Savage 110 Tactical Feeding Issues

Savage 110 Tactical Feeding Issues

I recently picked up a new Savage 110 Tactical and it's an awesome rifle. My only complaints so far is the firearm does not seem to want to feed the rounds correctly. I'm new to Savage rifles, so this has caught me off guard a little bit but not new to firearms. I have my suspicions what's going on here, but I'm not here to be a know it all so I'm willing to listen to any and all opinions. Hopefully we can get this squared away and we're ready to rock and roll again. The firearm seems to feed the first 3 rounds no problem, but any more in the magazine then that and we're asking for trouble.

I was under the impression this .308 caliber firearm came with a 10-round magazine but this mag doesn't seem to want to hold more than 6 and like I said above, anymore than 3 and we're not cooking with gasoline anymore.

Your rifle has a magazine with a 10 round capacity. There is a problem with your cartridges or the magazine. Is it factory Ammo or handloads. Knowing the COAL and the COAL capacity of the magazine may shed light on the mag function issue. Also determining if there is a problem with the magazine by performing some spring/follower compression test may help. Lastly you could contact Savage or purchase an additional magazine to test.
    The Dunning-Kruger effect is alive and well.

Hello,
    The cartridges are factory ZQ1 brass cased 7.62x51. The magazine is an MDT polymer magazine. I have contacted Savage about the issue but so far I haven't received a response.