Thread: Bore brush vs Bore Snake for breaking in barrel

Bore brush vs Bore Snake for breaking in barrel

Hey everyone,
    I’m a happy new owner of a Savage Axis XP II chambered in a 6.5 Creedmoor. My question pertains to breaking in the barrel. FYI, I am new to bolt actions but not rifles in general. I am going to ask this question that probably was asked a million times. As the title says: for the process of breaking in the barrel what do you all recommend a rod or bore snake? Thank you in advance.

D..

Personally I find it easier to use a rod. I carry a snake for use while hunting or away from home & a proper rod should the need arise.
    "They couldn't hit an elephant at this distance." Last words of Gen. Sedgwik

Basic Member
    Ive never bothered to (properly) break in a barrel.
    There are varying opinions on that anyway.
    But as for the type of cleaning rod, ive always preferred the one pc. models like Dewey for example.
    There is always a cleaning rod along with several size brushes when we hunt.
    You only need to have one once and not have it to be cured of that.

Thank you. I went ahead and purchased a rod kit and bore snake. I use bore snakes for my other rifles like my 5:56/.223, which eats everything I feed it and my .22lr, purchased used but a good cleaning and bore snake passes did the trick. Thank you for your time.

Basic Member