Thread: Savage Elite Precision in whatever caliber

Basic Member

Savage Elite Precision in whatever caliber

So I bought a Savage Elite Precision in 300 PRC and got it cheap I expect because you can't buy ammunition for it. You'd have better luck trading a kidney on Gunbroker for a box of ammo. The thing retails for $2,199.00. I paid $1,625.00, no tax, no CC fee, no shipping. So I'm heavily invested in Savage. I have more than a few barrels, bolt heads and just about anything else. I thought the magazine might even work but that didn't pan out as there are two ribs in the front that prevent my intended cartridge from fitting. It then occurred to be that this uses AICS mags. I've never used one of these type of rifles before so it didn't click. I went over to Brownells and they had Accurate Mags AICS magazines for the 300 Remington Ultra Mag for for $80.00. Which is freakin' lot of money but if it fit....well it does.

I guess I'm pointing out the obvious to everyone. This MDT chassis will accommodate virtually any barrel size or shape. The bolt head can be switched out to virtually anything. I think I have one for every diameter, all of them dressed out with SSS extractor/Ejector kits. I use an NSS barrel lug and barrel nut. The MDT chassis will take any AICS 3.850 magazine and if that doesn't work out. I can use an AICS single shot adapter. There are only two chassis screws and they are so easy to get to and drop the action from the chassis.