Thread: 1915 .32 missing part ID

1915 .32 missing part ID

Folks,
    I am newbie here and in need of some assistance /guidance on my newly obtained Savage 1915 .32 pistol. I purchased it to replace the one I sold many years ago, regrettably. I am hoping that someone knows the name of the lever ( indicator) that is missing, it's on the right hand side directly above the index finger. I have been told its called the "slide lock" or the "clip safety indicator", either way I am in need of one. I really would like a drawing of the gun showing it , but all diagrams I seem to find are for every model except the hammerless. If it's the "unicorn horn" of parts for this gun , I can understand, and I have access to my good friends' machinist skills and shop to make one, if the exact drawing an dimensions can be found, although I would prefer an original. I am also seeing that possibly a magazine specific for this model may be needed for that lever to actually be active? Any and all information is greatly appreciated, as well as any input as to how to go about preserving this gun ( do I keep it as is?, restore?, value of it in those conditions) . UPDATE- I thank everyone for the great information I have gotten thus far, and I will be on the lookout for parts as time goes on. My need for the " Slide Lock Release Bar" is what I am going to have to focus on for now. I am reaching out to ANYONE WHO HAS A 1915, that would be willing to breakdown the gun and take some photos and measurements or even a rubbing of the part for me. I can have one made if I can get the measurements. As for an original magazine, that too may be able to be made from a stck 1917 magazine with some machining from what I have been told. Thanks again for any assistance! Happy New Year to all!! - Dan
    Last edited by red71gto; 01-05-2020 at 10:45 AM. Reason: UPDATE for info needed

This may help - but the site is blocked from my work PC so I apologize if it does not.