Thread: New 10T-SR owner with issues

New 10T-SR owner with issues

Hi all,

I've been doing research for nearly two years on getting a budget rifle for mid-range target shooting, and settled on Savage early on. I just found this board this week, but I've already been going through to get myself up to speed on the Savage system and what people are doing to build and maintain their rifles.

I just took the step this week and picked up a 10T-SR in 6.5mm Creedmoor from Bass Pro Shop, and just got it out to the range today.

As far as shooting it goes, it was a great experience. I shot semi-competitively in the army and tried out for the AMU, so I've got a little experience with the M24 in 7.62 and .300 Win Mag. The recoil and overall feel of the 10T was a pleasant surprise after that.

Once I got the scope dialed in and had some breaks in the wind, and after a dozen rounds knocking the dust off my skills, I was making dime-sized groups at 100m from the bench.

That said, there are a few operational issues I ran into which I was hoping for some advice on next steps. I called Savage, but they're on break this week and nobody is answering the phones.

First, I'm getting a high number of failures to eject. The casing clears the chamber, but the bolt just loses its grip while pulling through the barrel nut area. The casing ends up "dropped" on top of the magazine, and a quick twist dumps the case out the side of the ejection port.

I saw a lot of threads about failing ejectors, but they seem to be a different set of failure conditions than I'm seeing, and I'm hoping this is just a lubrication or break in issue.