Thread: 111 LH LA Questions

Basic Member

111 LH LA Questions

Hi guys and gals,

I am new to Savage Shooters. I really like the forum. Tons of information.
    I am having a hard time trying to figure some stuff on one of my Savages. I have a 111 left hand long action in 7mm Rem Mag sporter the mag is internal.
    I am wanting to Rebarrel, new stock and muzzle break.
    I would like to shoot 1200 yards as I am doing with a couple other rifles. I bought this when I was 18 in 2007. First rifle and I thought I wanted something light but I have been reloading for 8 years now and this barrel is not very accurate best loads is 1.25 moa at 100 yards.
    I have looked all over the internet for stocks and barrels to swap out. I would like to go with a non wood stock and a heavy varmint barrel.
    Or should I sell the LH action and buy a RH rifle?
    Thanks for any help.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Basic Member
    From your comments, you are not a stranger to the challenges of shooting at long distances and obviously are accustomed to shooting for accuracy.

Your 7mm Rem mag is a very light, high recoil rifle that is meant for hunting, not precision shooting.
    Long range precision rifles are heavy for a reason - weight mitigates some of the recoil and stock muscling that really impacts accuracy, especially at long distance.

Light rifles are very hard to shoot accurately unless you really work on your set up and stock handling technique.
    They are light to make them easier to carry in the field but that is a compromise that doesn't favor accuracy.
    From your comments, you already know that.

Hunting ammo varies a lot and, if you are using budget ammo, it may be influencing the accuracy.
    Several of my hunting rifles have very strong bullet weight and shape preferences when I try to shoot them for accuracy, but they do their job when hunting beautifully.