Thread: Factory Accufit Stock

Basic Member

Factory Accufit Stock Bedding?

Ok, you guys are going to have to bear with me on some of these questions, because while I have been shooting for decades, I'm basically I'm new to bolt action rifles. I feel like Oddball, from the movie Kelly's Heroes .... "Hey man, I just shoot them, I don't know what makes them work". I have been looking at stock bedding videos, and either they are carving out wooden stocks, or usually have some custom aftermarket stock.

Exactly what does the factory Accufit stock on a 110 Tactical need, if anything? The ad states "AccuStock rail system secures the action three-dimensionally along its entire length". "Together with the AccuStock™, which secures the action three-dimensionally along its entire length, the 110 Tactical provides the fit and function of a custom rifle—right out of the box."

So does this mean the stock does not need bedding, or does it need bedded to perform at it's best? Pillar bedding? Regular bedding? Memory foam??? It's all so confusing, I'm very very confused.....

Team Savage
    The Accustock is a synthetic stock with a metal skeleton running from the forearm to the stock grip. The recoil lug and action are cradled in the metal frame. No pillars, bedding or other upgrades required for excellent accuracy potential. Savage rifle models with Accustock also have metal bottom parts instead of plastic like some of the lower cost models. The new Savage 110 models with Accufit-Accustock now make buying a cheaper Savage model that has to be upgraded for best accuracy potential a questionable endeavor.

Here's a good visual explanation for you.

JP noted that the aluminum skeleton extends to the grip. As you can see in the video, the skeleton stops at the rear action bridge just forward of the trigger group.
    "Life' is tough. It's even tougher if you're stupid." ~ John Wayne
    “Under certain circumstances,