Thread: New to Savage Bolt Actions, want one to re-barrel

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

New to Savage Bolt Actions, want one to re-barrel

As stated above, I am new to Savage bolt action rifles. I am looking for recommendations for one to re-barrel for my daughter to use. I will be chambering it in 357AR, which is a straight wall 35 caliber wildcat round based on the 5.56 NATO case (which Winchester recently copied for their 350 Legend). She shoots this cartridge really well already in an AR platform, so I am wanting to put together a lighter weight hunting rifle for her. The AR build is 7.75 lbs complete ready to hunt, hoping to shave of a pound or so on the rifle to make the overall package lighter for her (she is under 95 lbs herself).

Ideally it will have started life as a .223 sized bolt face from the factory. Is there a particular model I should be looking for? I would prefer a detachable magazine for it, since it may be easier to modify to get the feeding of the straight wall cartridge right, but I would consider a fixed magazine style also.

Basic Member
    Get a Savage Axis in .223. That is what I'm doing for a 6.5 Grendel build (also an AR cartridge originally). They come with a detachable mag and are lightweight. Get an Axis II if you like the Accu-Trigger. Get an original Axis if you are going to replace the trigger with an aftermarket one. Both Axis versions have a two position safety.

If you want a three position safety, then get a Savage 10 or 12 in .223. You will probably pay more though than you would for an Axis unless you get one with a blind mag.