Thread: Axis FAQ Update Fact Finidng Thread

Basic Member

Axis FAQ Update Fact Finidng Thread

Hey guys,
    The Axis FAQ page is getting a little long in the tooth. It was made about a year after the Axis came out and since then there have been some changes. It's time for an update. I'll post the FAQ that I'm working on here and everyone can chime in with their input. When it looks like that question is thoroughly answered, I'll compile the best answer(s) into a concise Q&A to submit to Jim for posting on the FAQ page. Then on to the next Q&A.

Pictures are great to have along with each question and answer. Please take a good picture of your Axis and upload it if it helps explain the answer.
    Thanks in advance to everyone that helps.

Basic Member
    So here is the first question. If I'm a Savage newbie and looking for a low price donor rifle, my first question is which one should I buy. What are the differences (if any) and which one is more customizable?

QUESTION:
    What are the differences between the Savage Edge, Axis and Axis II?

Basic Member
    All axis actions are the same length , I think the big difference is the ones with a accu trigger , heavier barrel and wood stock . I would look at what the gun comes with and figure out what the costs are to do the modifications you want . I normally start out with the cheapest one I can find and start from there , trigger job new barrel and stock

Basic Member
    Just to clarify, the Axis II has the Accu-Trigger. The Edge and the Axis do not. Is that correct?

From what I can tell, the only difference between the Edge and the original Axis is the name. Some legal reason Savage had to stop using the name Edge. I'd like to verify that though before posting that they are the same on the FAQ.

Basic Member
    From what I understand the difference is just in the name both are the same the edge came out first though

Ok, I can already see this is going to turn into a case of the blind leading the blind. lol