Thread: 110 storm scope question

110 storm scope question

I recently purchased a 110 storm 30-06. I am not experienced in scopes. I am looking for a scope and mount recommendation that wont break the bank. The gun will be used mainy for black bear hunting over bait in maine. Thanks in advance

Team Savage
    First thing you have to decide is what "break the bank" means. Like most optics, there is a model for every budget, and typically, you get what you pay for. So, decide on a hard number for your scope budget, then look in that class for the features you want. That will really narrow it down from thousands to probably less than a dozen.

Personally, I like lower powered scopes than most folks, because they bring in more light and honestly, because people just think they need more power than they really do. For hunting bears over bait, I'd get a 1.5-4x20 Leupold or just a good fixed 4x.

I have gone the "cheap" route in scopes most of my life, then finally learned why so many people are so high on Leupold scopes. They really are the best overall value for the money. Took me about 30 years and 100 scopes to learn this. I'm kind of slow sometimes. LOL

Basic Member
    I agree with NewtoSavage. You have to decide what features you want and go from there.

As mentioned, you don't need a high power scope to hunt over bait. However, a 30'06 has an effective range near 500 yards if you wanted to use it that far. I say that because you may find that you use the 30'06 for more than just bear hunting in the future. A 1 to 4 power scope or a fixed 4 power scope is plenty for hunting over bait. If you hunt anything else you'll want a bit more power. Something more like a 2 to 7 or a 1 to 8 power scope is what I would want.

Lastly, I second a good Leupold scope as a hunting scope. Vortex is popular these days, but I won't own any more Vortex optics. Vortex has a great warranty, because you'll have to use that warranty.

Team Savage