Thread: First Savage build, lots of questions

Ryan55555

First Savage build, lots of questions

I picked up a Savage 110 w/ accutrigger today at a pawn shop for very cheap. It is chambered in 7RM, standard shank, with an internal magazine.

I want to make a good long range deer hunting gun, not very heavy and without a really long barrel.

A 7 WSM built to shoot the berger 180's on a long action has caught my interest.

What is good barrel length for this build?

How about the magazine, what to do so the WSM will feed good?

Need to get a barrel ordered, would like to have it pre-chambered ready to thread on.

Anyone have experience with a custom 7WSM barrel I would like to hear some suggestions as were to order it from, I have no experience with aftermarket barrels.

Many more questions to come.

Thanks,

Ryan

dcloco

Re: First Savage build, lots of questions

Are you reloading or buying ammo?

You might want to shoot that 7 Rem Mag before you buy a barrel.

Last fall, I specifically built a 7 Rem Mag hunting rifle. 7RM will definitely shoot to 1000 yards on deer sized game with 162's or heavier.

Ryan55555

I am reloading.

I could go shoot some factory rounds out of it and see how it does. I do not have a 7RM die but could probably find someone that has does.

The stock is in pretty rough shape and does not appear to fit well.

hailstone

Very little difference between the two cartridges performance. Only real difference is long action verses short action which too some is not really an issue. Most 7mm Rem Mag ammo is running around twenty dollar bill while the 7mm WSM is more than double. I managed to score three cases of the ammo for very reasonable $12 per box twenty. Brass alone was running same cost as loaded factory ammo so it was a no brainer.

358Hammer