Thread: Rifle for Scouts?

Question Rifle for Scouts?

I am a NRA Certified Rifle Instructor and a Certified Range Safety Officer. I earned these certifications so I could teach Rifle Shooting Merit Badge to (up until recently, "Boy") Scouts. I have access to five rifles that are appropriately sized for 11-year-olds.

The problem is, these rifles aren't ideal for older Scouts, say 14 years of age and older. Rifles that are too small aren't comfortable to shoot. Worse, I have questions about their accuracy, although it's certainly possible the fault lies with either the cheap bulk ammo I had been using or the hunched-over shooting position the Scouts had to assume. They can choose to shoot seated or prone, but either way, the rifle is supported on sandbags.

I'd like to buy one (or more) "regular size" rifle(s) for these older Scouts to use. The constraints are: 1) It must be a bolt action .22 LR. 2) While it can have a box magazine, it must allow single-shot feeding into the chamber. In other words, the Scouts won't be feeding rounds from the magazine. 3) Tube magazines are expressly forbidden. (I have no idea why since the rifles are only used in single shot mode.) 4) It must have iron sights. 5) This is the crux of the matter--the Scouts must be able to consistently shoot 5 shot groups that can be covered with a quarter at a distance to the target of 50 feet. If my math is correct, this translates to a smidgen better than 6 MOA. 6) It must be easy for youth Scouts to clean.

One rifle that interests me is the Savage Mark II FSS. I certainly hope it can shoot under 6 MOA groups with match grade ammo. How do these rifles do with cheap bulk ammo? I'm not only providing my time and my training for free, I'm also supplying the ammo (and targets, cleaning supplies, etc.). It takes upwards of 100 rounds per Scout, so if it will remain sufficiently accurate with inexpensive ammo, so much the better.