Thread: Bolt head swap

Bolt head swap

Forgive my inexperience, im pretty new at this.
    I have a 260 LRP id like to redo to a 6.5prc. I have found an older top release 300wsm that is a early small barrel shank. Will i be able swap the bolt heads between the 260 and 300wsm bolts?the reason to swap the heads is i have a new McGowan smallshank 6mm creedmore barrel to thread into the 300wsm reciever.

Lucky, More importantly is your early 300 wsm control round(stagger fed)[Which it is.] or the push feed ( center fed) action. The older stagger fed rifles used a standing ejector. The action had a machined provision for the ejector the was secured by the trigger hanger pin. The more modern WSM's had a push feed bolt head with a ejector pin that was in the bolt face itself. The first picture is a control feed from a stagger feed wsm. without the ejector and the machining of the action for the ejector it will not eject using this boltface.

and the ejector.

The bolthead you want is for the pushfeed design for the more modern centerfed action. And all of the parts to go along with it. The extractor, ball and spring, the ejector pin, retaining pin and spring and more than likely a firing pin assembly.

It has been forever and a day since I tackled this job but this info will get you started in a direction that will give you a better understanding of what your in for. I'm sure I missed something or goofed this post up but hopefully together we can get you the right information.

One last thing.....You might be able to modify a long action magnum bolt head to keep from needing a firing pin.

Wow thank you for that vast amout of knowledge robinhood!!!! Doesn't seem like a worth while swap for my level of experience. Id really like to turn my lrp into a 6.5 prc, in what way do you feel that would be easiest to achieve?