Thread: Newbie here needs info on equipment to mount optic on 12fv in 6.5 creedmoor

Newbie here needs info on equipment to mount optic on 12fv in 6.5 creedmoor

There ya have it...

I was advised to head to Savage specific forum vs getting advice from all over hell for firearms.

I picked up the 12fv in 6.5 creedmoor recently. i have a cheap Vortex Crossfire II optic. All I want to do is shoot some yotes or try to anyways. - 200-300 yds tops probably

So what I dont know is what do I need.... a pic rail /base..whatever it is for rings.. which one? rings, low med high? i didnt know that was an option... so... been more of a bowhunting guy so firearms are new to me and I ahve minimal experience, don't want to invest in the super expensive options.. ths isn't that important to me and everyone seems to be absolute experts when it comes to firearms especially.

lots of options I assume... don't fight, just tell me exactly what to buy. i'll take it to cabelas to get bore scoped at first whatever it is.

tell me what to scope it in at... 100yds? when i finally do get out.

i dont know how to work that scope yet. gonna have to research that.

what's "eye relief" and how is it important.

thanks guys.

Team Savage
    EGW pic. rail & Burris Sig. z rings would be a great start

You are probably good with low but Vortex can tell you if you email them. Then you can cross reference their ring height to other manufacturers. They go by base to bottom of scope or base to centerline of ring if that help.

When buying Rings it’s highly dependent on the objective lens size. Medium would likely work.

As for bases and rings, but what you like. Most would work for your purposes. I like EGW and Burris same as drybean states above. The signature series rings are pretty awesome in my opinion. Warne also makes great stuff. Leupold isn’t bad either.

Hope this doesnt muddy the puddle.

Basic Member