Thread: Question about choosing bullet seating depth...

Basic Member

Question about choosing bullet seating depth...

Again...I'm new to reloading so another question.... I'm loading for my 12LRP in 6.5 CM...I've played around with some different charge weights and am ready to try some different bullet seating depths. So far I've loaded for a .03 jump. I've decided to stick with 40.8 grains of Hodgen 4350 and using Hornady brass. So my questions are: Assuming I want less of a jump, what increments should I use? Will pressure increase with every change that shortens the jump or only when actually going too far into the lands? Also curious what others are using successfully.

Thanks in advance!!

Basic Member
    I think most would do the opposite. Starting with a seating depth very close, then increasing the jump in increments, looking for better accuracy.
    Not everybody agrees that powder plays much of a roll in accuracy, bullet choice and seating depth being more important.

Basic Member
    I always start at .020" off as if too close or into lands you might hit pressure sooner. Also using the Hornady bullets in my Creedmoor I have never had to change from that for accuracy. I only changed one with the 147 ELD to .030" off to give myself a little room in the magazine but it shot equally well at .020 and .030".

What bullet you using?

I load my .260 rem using 43 gr. H4350 and the Hornady 143 ELD-X.... my seating depth is .004 off. I started at .04 off, then to .02 off, and then to .004 off which I got that seating depth from Sam @ panhandle precision... 1/4 MOA shooter if I am doing "well" that day.

Basic Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Rob01 View Post