Thread: Vortex Razor Opinion

Basic Member

Vortex Razor Opinion

I'm building a rifle for PRS matches and I really like the price tag on the Vortex Razor HD 5-20x50. Most places are selling the scopes for $1700. I know that the Gen II is selling for $2500. My question is, does the difference in price make the Generation II that significantly better? What are your thoughts?

My budget is less than $2000
    They who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety.

Basic Member
    While I have no experience with Gen I vs Gen II, I have some co-workers who have the Gen II versions and love them. I would check in the classifieds section on Snipers Hide forums. There's a big PRS following there and there will usually be one or two for sale. With any luck, you might be able to pick one up used for around $2K.

Basic Member
    When shopping around I noticed that OpticsPlanet was running a 10% off for the scope, so I purchased the Generation 1. I'm going to be posting a video hopefully on youtube over this build and a write-up on this site. The action will be Mausingfield (thanks Lonewolf).
    They who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety.

I have my first ever Vortex HSLR and love it....Solid....While holding a few high end Vortex while in Cabelas, your Razor was one that stuck out being sharp, Crystal clear, and great eye focus....Out of my budget, but compared to the three I liked.....Great warranty to boot....Good luck.
    Perpetual Optimism is a force Multiplier....

Basic Member