Thread: Parts to Rifle? (a little long)

Hapeman

Parts to Rifle? (a little long)

A young man moved from our town to Colorado. He would like to hunt Elk. I have some Savage parts and rifle parts. The young man's father another friend and myself would to put a rifle together for him. The parts I have are inherited from an uncle except for an accu stock. The friend has built several high end modern Savage squirrel rifles. I have very little experience with Savage rifles. The parts I have are action and bolt with magazine box,spring ,follower,bottom metal action screws,trigger and trigger guard. Serial number 53176 on receiver and bolt. I have a Savage 30-06 barrel and barrel nut,wrench, and recoil lug. I thought the receiver was for an30-06 however the bolt face is to large for an 30-06 case. The bolt face fits my 375 H&H and my 416 rem. I would like to make a 30-06. The bolt face has a extractor(?) ring? I have one piece leupold base and rings and a Redfield scope. I have a youth black hardwood stock, short length of pull that I don't think I can use and I have an accu stock that has a cut out in the bottom for a detachable magazine.I have swivels studs recoil pads and others. The idea is to use up parts and end up with a serviceable hunting rifle. I am confused about the receiver and the bolt face. The firing pin works and the empty cases extract and eject. I have go- no go gauge for 30-06. What can I use to make what?

Sounds like it might be an old model 110. Has a bolt face similar to a Remington 700 with a ‘nose’ that sits recessed in the barrel. If that is indeed what you have you might be farther ahead to find another donor action to start with. Probably not what you want to hear. Otherwise I think you have to change just about everything on the bolt, including the bolt body.

Hapeman