Thread: Beam Scale Trouble

Basic Member

Beam Scale Trouble

I'm a little new to reloading and I want to do everything right but I'm having trouble with my powder scales. I have an older RCBS (not sure of model), a Lee safety scale and a cheap Hornady digital and I like the RCBS best for ease of use but both my beam scales have the same problem.
    The problem is that when I zero them they will settle out for a second then start jumping around again. They will also do the same thing when I try to weigh a powder charge. I've tried them in different rooms thinking I was getting some kind of weird electrical interference or air flow from the ceiling fan but got the same results. I've also cleaned the scales and inspected them really well and can't find anything wrong visually.
    Is there anything I can do to fix this problem or am I doing something wrong?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk

Yes there is. The pivot on the beam is basically a triangle with the angle that sits on the base needing to be a knife edge. I use a magnifier and an DMT Red Diamond Hone. Carefully dust both sides of the pivot on each side of the beam until you have a sharp surface. You must get the hone at the same plane of the pivot. any flat or dull spot may have an impact on consistency.

Also, clean the base were the beam pivot sits. I add some mineral oil and that works for me. Your mileage may vary.

Always remove the beam from the base after using and protect those edges. There are wicked vibrations coming from underfoot that may accelerate the wear on the pivot.
    Last edited by Robinhood; 01-19-2018 at 11:26 PM. Reason: Correction:

Basic Member
    Robinhood, do you have a link to the ADT red diamond hone you use?

Basic Member