Thread: Question about overall case length

Basic Member

Question about overall case length

Ok....I'm new to reloading...I've bought some equipment and learning to take measurements and practing that.I am not reloading live ammo yet. So I'm trying to learn how to use the Hornady oal length guage, when I measure the chamber in my Savage 12 LRP, 6.5 CM, and compare that measurement to a factory loaded round using the the same bullet, my measurement is .077 shorter than the factory round , does that sound correct? I'm using the Hornady bullet comparator to take the measurements.

If you are truly measuring OAL of the loaded cartridge, it's not that large of a deal; nor MAY it matter if measuring off the ogive.
    Re-read your manuals and understand the theory of operation.
    The Creedmoor is a bottleneck case, so headspace is measured from the base of the case to a point roughly mid shoulder. The tips of bullets varies in shape and length, so measuring the total cartridge OAL will always vary some. Measuring off the ogive is what you care about. Factory ammo needs to function in every conceivable gun ever chambered for Creed. That includes short magazines in an AR pattern rifle. Factory and will ALWAYS be minimum spec. You only need to know at what distance every different bullet you use, touches the lands. From touching, you need to back off, making the bullets not jammed. Everyone has magical herbs and spices for the amount of jump to the rifling.
    FWIW, I have NEVER found any bullet on the planet that won't shoot with 0.0625" of jump, unless you have a crappy load to begin with.

Cheers

Basic Member
    I am measuring from the ogive. I'm comparing the same bullet to a factory round. It just seems odd to me that the factory round is longer than what the gauge is saying it should be.