Thread: GSR Stock Replacement Options

Basic Member

GSR Stock Replacement Options

Hey y'all,

New to Savages, recently purchased a Model 10 GRS in 6.5 CM. Knew it was a bit of a gamble, not being able to try it out first. Not working for me. So, now I'm looking at options, selling as is or just letting go of the GRS stock and finding a drop in replacement stock for the action, 4.400 screws, with AI mag receiver. Wondering if any of the Bell&Carlson stocks would be plug and play, or there is some inletting and fitting required?

Same question goes for the Choate as well?

Thanks

Basic Member
    Out of curiosity, what is the problem with the GRS stock? And I am no pro on stock/action fitting so I will let others speak on that one. The action should fit in tons of stock options, the DBM I am not so sure...

Basic Member
    Yep, sure.

For me, the stock wants to roll over when I try to rest the weight of my head on the cheek piece. And, the cheekpiece is a little too wide for my face type, have narrow eyes, resulting in having to uncomfortably tilt my head over the stock to get behind the scope. Those are the main gripes, however, the grip size and distance to the trigger is awkward also and because of that, the trigger guard will occasionally recoil into my middle finger. Other than that, its great! ��

I'm afraid I'm unfamiliar, "DBM"?

Thanks.

Basic Member
    There are a number of stock options available. It depends on what you are looking for...but we need some more info....tactical, Monte Carlo, thumbhole, modular chassis, etc. Then do you want a detachable box magazine or internal magazine?

Basic Member
    Quote Originally Posted by lonestardiver View Post
    There are a number of stock options available. It depends on what you are looking for...but we need some more info....tactical, Monte Carlo, thumbhole, modular chassis, etc. Then do you want a detachable box magazine or internal magazine?

LSD,