Thread: savage 10 fcp-sr Scope ring height

pah696969

savage 10 fcp-sr Scope ring height

Recently I bought the savage 10 fcp-sr and am going to mount a Vortex Diamondback 3.5-10x50 and was wanting to know the ring height I should get. I contacted Vortex and their response was “I recommend a set of our Viper 1 inch rings in high height for your setup.”

Just looking for some advice as I am a newbie setting up my first hunting/longer range rifle. 300 yards and out.

Height is affected by the base and ring dimensions, the length of the scope from ocular to objective and the diameter of the barrel. There are so many combinations of scope dimensions it is difficult to be certain unless you have experience with the same scope, the same base on the same or similar barrelled rifle.

Understanding that a scope and a barreled action are two circles that cant intersect.

We know the action is very close to 1.350". The barrel is very close to 1.000", the objective bell could be as much as 2.750"(60mm) on the O.D.. There is the barreled action axis and the scope axis. You have a radius of .675" for the action and .500" for the barrel. There is a radial difference between the barrel and the action of .175". The scope radius(which may differ from my numbers) is 1.375". To find the center line of the scope axis above the top of the action, I add my clearance to the scope radius. .100" + 1.375 = 1.475". Subtract the radial difference of the action and barrel(.175") = 1.300. Now subtract your base height ( the narrowest thickness). An EGW might be around .275". Therefore 1.300" - .275" = pretty darn close to 1".

Now what is the radius of your scope? .5". You need a ring with a dimension of 1" from the center line of the scope to the top of the base or one that is .5 from the bottom of the ring bore to the top of the base. Either way it is the same thing. Go out and look at ring manufactures websites and find what you need.