Thread: Savage 10 Ashbury Precision

Savage 10 Ashbury Precision

Good day all! I'm new to Savage rifles and new to this forum. I am starting this thread to see if anybody has any experience with the Savage 10 Ashbury Precision. I have combed the internet and have yet to find any reviews of the rifle, while BA Stealth reviews are numerous.

Does anybody have this rifle? If not, why has the BA Stealth exceeded it in popularity?

Basic Member
    Quote Originally Posted by MedServ60Driver View Post
    Good day all! I'm new to Savage rifles and new to this forum. I am starting this thread to see if anybody has any experience with the Savage 10 Ashbury Precision. I have combed the internet and have yet to find any reviews of the rifle, while BA Stealth reviews are numerous.

Does anybody have this rifle? If not, why has the BA Stealth exceeded it in popularity?
    Your answer is simple. It comes down to cost! The APO is $600 more for the same barreled action just in a fancier Chassis. Most of the Savage crowd don't want to drop $1800 on a Savage.... and it will still shoot like a Savage at the end of the day.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Basic Member
    Quote Originally Posted by LoneWolf View Post
    Your answer is simple. It comes down to cost! The APO is $600 more for the same barreled action just in a fancier Chassis. Most of the Savage crowd don't want to drop $1800 on a Savage.... and it will still shoot like a Savage at the end of the day.
    +1

The APO is about a pound heavier and noticably more expensive (about $400 based on recent Bud's pricing).

On the APO, you have to mount the scope higher to clear the handguard so you definitely will need a cheek riser where on the Stealth, you may not need to use the riser based on scope/rings combination.

With the APO, you do get a folding, partially collapsible stock but that has limited value (from my perspective) versus a fully collapsible stock.