Thread: Best way to straighten crooked necks after necksizing

Basic Member

Best way to straighten crooked necks after necksizing

I am new to reloading and am currently reading all info I can find concering necksizing .308. I've found a tool to check neck runout... but what is acceptable?
    I've experienced quite a bit of resistance when withdrawing expander ball back through case after neck sizing. I've measued neck tension after seating bullet to be ~ .002. I am wondering if expander might be a bit too large or possibly too rough on inside of neck causing shoulder distortion of my once fired brass. Or perhaps too much resistance when seating bullets due to roughness of inside of neck. 80-90% of rounds chamber but rest chamber hard and are difficulut to extract. These bullets exhibit scoring just forward of case neck. What is best way to proceed.... pull the bullets remove expander ball from die and FL resize to correct? Polish expander ball, lube inside neck? Any advice would be appreciated.

A few questions.

Why do you want to neck size?

What die?

New brass or previously fired?

Yes you should lubricate the inside of.the neck with any number of dry graphite lubricants if you are using an expander ball.

Runout on finished rounds should be less than .003.

How did you establish COAL? You could be jamming the bullet into the lands

If previously fired brass that hasn't had the shoulder bumped back that could be your chambering problem.

Might just be best to buy you a forster full length sizing die and stick with that till you gain a little more.experience. i have come full circle. Tried it all and come back to full length sizing. Of course the die needs to be set up correctly.

schnyd112
    Your necks need annealed. Or at least that is where I would start.