Thread: my first impression of my new 10 FCP-SR in 6.5 Creedmoor

shaggy151

my first impression of my new 10 FCP-SR in 6.5 Creedmoor

First off, I'm not a professional reviewer. So, please bear with me. I don't know the exact specs on this gun because they are not posted anywhere and are not in the paperwork.

I was in my local gun shop and saw what appeared to be a "new" model of Savage that I was not aware of. I picked it up for a closer look and saw that its a Model 10 FCP-SR chambered in 6.5 Creedmoor. The rifle came in a Savage Accustock in Flat Dark Earth color. It had a 24" heavy barrel and had a threaded muzzle with a thread protector in place. The barrel was also NOT fluted like the .308 FCP-SR. It also came equipped with the Accutrigger. It came with Pictanny scope base installed. Another notable difference between this gun and the .308 FCP-SR is the bolt handle. This bolt handle is a rounded pear shaped oversize type as opposed to the very large bolt handle that comes on the .308. I actually like this bolt much more. This rifle also has a 10 round detachable box magazine. It's a metal/plastic magazine that's exclusive to Savage. I had been wanting a long range rifle and this appeared to be the perfect starter long range rifle for me. I asked the gun shop owner some for info on this gun. He stated that its a distributor exclusive gun that Savage has made in limited runs. Since this was also chambered in 6.5, I had to have this rifle. I paid $600+tax for this rifle and Savage is currently offering a $75 rebate. I felt this rifle was a real good deal at $525 + tax.