Thread: swapping barrels on model 10

swapping barrels on model 10

Howdy, have not been on this site for some time. Was a member years ago when I started shooting savages but something happen either to my computer or the site and i cold not get back on. Anyway back now. Always received good information here so when this project came up this is where I went. I have an older savage model 10 in .308 9that was built up with help from here). Now I think I'm coming down with the 6.5 creedmoor bug and want to swap barrels. I saw a company EA Brown selling barrels and was wondering if anyone here has any info on them. I understand it easy to swap barrels but they will do it for $30 plus shipping. Sounds good? Any other info would also be appreciated. Thanks

Basic Member
    Depending on your choice of tools, The cost will be north of $100. You need nut wrench, barrel vice or action wrench, head space gauges, and a good solid work bench to work on. I got started about 3 years ago. Now I have 3 actions and 6 barrels and an additional barrel on order. Beware it is habit forming. Good luck

Basic Member
    I just did my first barrel swap last week and the tools from Northland Shooters Supply came to $155.53 including shipping. Great customer service and top quality tools, worth every penny. That included action wrench, barrel nut wrench and both no & no go gauges. You don't really need the no/go gauge and could save 28.50 there if you wanted. I swapped out a 22-250 to a Creedmoor on a 12 VLP with no surprises. I can see where this could become addicting, these Savages are fun to work on, glad I bought the tools.

Banned
    100% on NSS.

I would at least get the Go gauge. Put a piece of tape on the back to check for the no go. I set mine pretty tight, won't being to close on the no go.

EA Brown barrels are about the same quality as a Savage barrel. Shipping is going to cost you propyl $50 both ways. $30 for the work.