Thread: Loads for an Axis in .223 Remington

Basic Member

Loads for an Axis in .223 Remington

I'm new to this rifle and I want to reload my own ammo. I have three different powders for it, Norma 200, IMR 4895, and IMR 4198. I also have 55 gr FMJ and FMJBT bullets with cannelure. This is what I've been able to gather so far:

55 gr Hornady fmjbt
    Norma 200, 22 gr, low, 23.5 gr high
    55 gr Hornady fmjbt
    IMR 4198, 18.8 gr low, 20.4 gr high
    55 gr Hornady fmjbt
    IMR 4895, 21.5 gr low, 23.9 high

I've even read about using 4 to 6 grains of Trail Boss. I have a ton of Trail Boss, so that would be awesome. People have discussed using everything from light bullets (35 gr) to more normal weight (52 to 55 gr) bullets with Trail Boss.

I'd appreciate any feedback on this. By the way, the majority of my shooting is done at an indoor range.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

glockr
    Quote Originally Posted by andyknaster View Post
    I'm new to this rifle and I want to reload my own ammo. I have three different powders for it, Norma 200, IMR 4895, and IMR 4198. I also have 55 gr FMJ and FMJBT bullets with cannelure. This is what I've been able to gather so far:

55 gr Hornady fmjbt
    Norma 200, 22 gr, low, 23.5 gr high
    55 gr Hornady fmjbt
    IMR 4198, 18.8 gr low, 20.4 gr high
    55 gr Hornady fmjbt
    IMR 4895, 21.5 gr low, 23.9 high

I've even read about using 4 to 6 grains of Trail Boss. I have a ton of Trail Boss, so that would be awesome. People have discussed using everything from light bullets (35 gr) to more normal weight (52 to 55 gr) bullets with Trail Boss.

I'd appreciate any feedback on this. By the way, the majority of my shooting is done at an indoor range.