Thread: Will a pre-fit be better than factory in a sporter weight barrel?

fly-n-arrow

Will a pre-fit be better than factory in a sporter weight barrel?

I'm planning on rebarreling my Stevens 200 action with a pre-fit from CBI, Shilen, X-Caliber, etc. I was planning on a sporter weight .270 barrel for a hunting rifle. I just read some posts where guys are saying that it's not worth it to spend the extra money on a pre-fit and to just go with a factory take-off. I just want a really accurate hunting rifle. Am I really not going to see a difference between the factory take-off barrel and the others?

I'm new to this arena so I don't have any experience with rebarreling the Savage rifles. I appreciate any insight you folks can give me.

Basic Member
    MAYBE. Barrels are weird things. Some shoot some don't. I would BET a prefit will outshoot a stock one. I would win MOST of the time. A prefit SHOULD clean easier, be more accurate and last longer than a stock rig.

A prefit from which barrel manufacturer? They certainly all are not the same.

It is still the luck of the draw but the odds of getting a hummer are better with the premium barrels.

Quote Originally Posted by fly-n-arrow View Post
    I'm planning on rebarreling my Stevens 200 action with a pre-fit from CBI, Shilen, X-Caliber, etc. I was planning on a sporter weight .270 barrel for a hunting rifle. I just read some posts where guys are saying that it's not worth it to spend the extra money on a pre-fit and to just go with a factory take-off. I just want a really accurate hunting rifle. Am I really not going to see a difference between the factory take-off barrel and the others?

I'm new to this arena so I don't have any experience with rebarreling the Savage rifles. I appreciate any insight you folks can give me.
    That's a foolish argument.
    Some Savage barrels are accurate, some are complete dog food. That has ALWAYS been the case with Savage. The same is possible with anything, including barrels.